If you are like the majority of Missouri workers, you take a few minutes every hour to do something other than job-related tasks. The law entitles you to breaks throughout the day to eat and to otherwise refresh yourself. At Thornberry Brown, LLC we often represent clients denied their breaks or penalized for taking them.
If you are working for minimum wage in Missouri, you may have noticed an increase in your paycheck since the beginning of the year. This is a direct result from Proposition B that was passed in Missouri in November 2018. This law increased the minimum wage rate from $7.85 per hour to $8.60 per hour beginning January 1, 2019. It does not stop there, however. Minimum wage increases will continue to take place every year until 2023, where it will top out at $12 per hour. After that, minimum wage fluctuations may occur, depending on the cost-of-living at that time.
Missouri employees are entitled to compensation for work they complete. Employers may violate this through a form of workplace larceny known as wage theft. Although traditionally prevalent in the service industry, the popularity of time-tracking software makes digital wage theft possible in any industry or company.
It’s important for workers in Missouri to understand classifications when it comes to employees and independent contractors. How you’re classified influences things like payment schedules and taxes, and it’s imperative that employers abide by the rules to remain in compliance with pertinent wage and hour laws.
There are many people who complain about what they get paid. However, Missouri has a set minimum wage that states employers must at least pay you a certain amount. This offers some protection against low wages, but did you know that some employers do not have to abide by minimum wage laws?
Servers in Missouri work hard for the money they earn, and many rely on tips as a large portion of their income. As a result, it’s imperative that employers follow all relevant wage and hour laws when paying workers. Minimum-Wage.org offers the following information to help tipped workers in Missouri understand their rights.
While employers in Missouri are required by law to provide their employees with opportunities to take a break at work, some employers do not enforce this requirement. Others, leave it up to the discretion of their employees whether or not breaks are taken. In some instances, workers opt to continue working instead of clocking out, so they can continue receiving payment. What many people may not realize is just how valuable taking a brief break from their responsibilities may be.
When you were hired for your job in Missouri, chances are your employer informed you of how often you would be allowed to take breaks. While it may be tempting at times to continue and work throughout designated break periods, this time is imperative to your safety, wellbeing and productivity at your job. If your employer does not provide adequate breaks, you may consider voicing your concerns because breaks are a necessary part of being a productive worker.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) regulates things like overtime pay and the minimum wage, among many other workplace matters. While a wide range of workers is covered by the FLSA there are also quite a few exemptions. The U.S. Department of Labor offers insight into these exemptions so both workers and employers remain fully apprised to their rights.
A common misconception held by many in Kansas City is that state and federal wage and hour laws only apply to people at a certain level of employment. Those in entry level positions only making a minimum wage may feel like they have no legal recourse if they are not being compensated fairly. This assumption may be due in large part to the opinion that some may have that the work such employees do requires little skills, making them easily replaceable. Yet in reality, those making minimum wage have the right to expect that they be paid what the law mandates, and that the fear of being fired should not be a tool employers use to exploit them.