If you are working for minimum wage in Missouri, you may have noticed an increase in your paycheck since the beginning of the year. This is a direct result from Proposition B that was passed in Missouri in November 2018. This law increased the minimum wage rate from $7.85 per hour to $8.60 per hour beginning January 1, 2019. It does not stop there, however. Minimum wage increases will continue to take place every year until 2023, where it will top out at $12 per hour. After that, minimum wage fluctuations may occur, depending on the cost-of-living at that time.
In addition to an increase in minimum wages, the new law increased the statute of limitations on legal claims involving wage issues. You now have three years from the date of the incident to bring a claim against your employer for paying you deficient wages, or wages that equal less than minimum wage. Furthermore, the law presents penalties for employers who fail to pay their employees the proper minimum wage rate. After 2019, any employer who pays less than minimum wage may be required to repay the employee the full wage rate, as well as twice the unpaid wages amount. The employer may also be responsible for paying attorneys’ fees in the case.
It is important to keep in mind that government employers are not held to the new minimum wage rate law or increases and that these employers may vary in their policies.
This information is intended to educate and should not be taken as legal advice.